Tags

, , ,

Lately, as you know, if you have been following me on my writing or my blog, tweets or whatever other social media world my name lives on, you know I have not been writing much. Some of it is due to my recovery from a second bought of GBS and the other is that I have been working as a proofreader to pay the bills, at least until I finish my BDSM book and learn how to self-publish. Now granted, I will not talk or represent my publisher in a bad light, I am still very happy with them. However if you ask me about that book monger, Amazon, that would be a very different story.

As my Gram would tell me, “It is easier to catch a fly with honey rather than vinegar.” Honestly, concerning Amazon, the giant mogul of the book world, only cares about profits, not freelance artist. So really, they fit right in with Wall Street and all that that financial world has to offer. I am okay with that, yet I will have to figure out how to handle the Amazon dilemma later…

Honestly, Amazon is not why you stopped by, I am aware. I just wanted you to know where I have been for the last half a year or so. Now back to the actual reason for this post, yes, Millennials. (I will apologize now for using the term, ‘Millennial’ I know that most do not like that term and I am sure it makes you cringe. However, to remind you, that is what this post is about.)

With the proofreading, I get to learn a lot, including new terms of our daily society. One of the more used terms, for a short period, was the term, ‘Millennial,’ needless to say, this Generation X-er had to figure out, or at least find out what the term meant. The first time I heard the term, I was sure it was something new, like a car. Not so much so. It actually was used in a book that was written in the 90’s by two gentlemen, Neil Howe and William Strauss who wrote Generations: The History of America’s Future, 1584 to 2069. According to them, the ‘Millennials,’ are born between 1982 to 2004.

Though I will say, in my research it shows me a few different areas that the term is being filtered into the lexicon of the day. Now, honestly for me, I do not fancy the term, ‘Millennial,’ perhaps it is because it is a new word that I actually have to learn how to spell and spelling is not one of my strong suits, never has been.

There honestly is something about the term that rubs me wrong, like sandpaper across my bare nipples. I guess because I have always known them as Generation Y. The Y bother generation, or at least that applies to most of them that I know on a personal level. I even had two Generation Y-er’s that were my roommates in Jersey and NYC. Let’s just say, neither of them are in my life anymore. I won’t get into why, I however will say I wish them well on their journey and way in life for them. Now I am not saying Generation X is any less annoying to those who know us.

We are annoying. Products mostly of the Vietnam, baby boomer generation that included hippies somewhere in there. We saw what the military conflict of Vietnam did to our parents and those on the Home front and other countries. What our parents went through. And what the need of the Volvo, suit and tie, white picket fence, a marriage and 2 and 1/3rd children on the expectation list that was created.

By the way, side note, where did the census come up with that 1/3rd of a child? And if you have a 1/3rd of a child hidden in your basement, attic or even a spare room, please share your experience with the group and what part of this unique child you have. Please share with the class, inquiring minds want to know.

Yes, back to where I was, the ’Millennials,’ or  at least the term. Even when I spoke to one of the ‘Millennials,’ her response, in a very uppity, haughty way was not only the look of, “Really old woman, you cannot be that behind the times.” She also stated the term had been used for a long time. Personally I don’t think something that has just begun to be a term, that has really only been used on a regular basis for the last 4 to 5 years, is a long time. Then again, I don’t see time in the Tweeting frame of mind either. So this term, at least to me, is still in the Tweeting timeframe. Granted the micro-blog will move it off the page soon and it will be a thought of as yesterday’s news.

Now, I am sure a few of you are saying, “Wait, wasn’t the term coined back in the 90’s?” Why yes, yes it was. That however does not mean it had become an everyday word used in societies main stream verbiage. As I was proofreading it and actually had look up the spelling of this new word; only because spellcheck had that bright red line underneath it, like a pimple that needs to pop, I had to re-listen and re-read the word. I honestly was not sure it was even a word for one, for two, I thought it was a new type of car. That should tell you how often I had heard it before then.

Now on some of the sites, they can be rather cruel in saying the new ‘Millennials,’ are lazy, narcissistic, ego-centric and don’t care, unless it will benefit them in one way or another. And don’t you dare ask them not to bring their cell phone to work, ‘gasp,’ let alone not have access to it during work hours. That they live on the gadgets that society now cannot seem to live without. That they have no motivation, they feel that they are owed everything and of course, they believe they are smarter than the average bear. This is what some sites say. I say, isn’t that every new generation to a point? (Minus of course the electrical gadgets.)

Other sites in my research shows that they are very business centric, computer savvy and goal oriented. More so than many other generations before them. That either they really believe in a form of a God, be it the Christian God or Wiccan, Greek, Roman, Celtic, Norse… Well you get the idea there. Or they do not believe in a form of a God. They have a stronger sense of non-judgment, acceptance and tolerance.

They might even have recycled and are wearing those rose colored glasses so many of us from Generation X threw away. Mind you if this is true the ’Millennials,’ had to dig them out of the regular garbage with all the coffee grounds, banana peels and egg shells, because we sure the hell were not going to recycle those glasses that lie. And they most certainly are not retro enough to keep or sell.

This generation of ‘Millennials,’ does not even have a definitive time line that they were born, or should I say the media has not decided in stone the years that this generation was born. Was it in the late 70’s? Or was it in the early 80’s. I will say, the one thing that my research has shown, is there is a definite end time for the ‘Millennials.’ It is 2000 – 2002.

Seems that the generation that has been born in 2002 and beyond do not quite have a name yet. Or if they do, it has not been media approved yet, so of course it does not exist until then.

I want to say for those of us born after the 70’s and beyond, the reality is, you can label us all you want. That label does not, in any way, shape or form define who we are. We are individuals that were born in a certain timeframe, not a title. And this includes the ‘Millennials,’ or ‘Generation Y.’ Society cannot define who or what we are, we do that on our own, as individuals with a background of living in and on the Matrix since we can remember.

Granted, the ‘Millennials,’ have one up on Generation X on that. Only because the technology, though we did not create it, we improved it and watched as it became globally available. And because of that, the ‘Millennial’s,’ now have all that our Generation made sure to create and help place on a global scale. Imagine the future generations that seem to have it handed to them from the time they come out of the womb.

Now that I have gone round and round about ‘Millennials,’ I also want to add, for the most part, they came from Generation X. They, for the most part, they are our children that we have raised. I know that both of my, now adults, were born in 1992 and 1995.

As a mother, I can tell you my adults are most certainly far more advanced in computer technology, acceptance, tolerance, support, achieving goals, preparing for the future and being more self-aware than any generation I know. They do not believe everything you, or anyone for that matter, will tell them is the truth. Or maybe that is just my adults, though I don’t think so. Granted, as they were growing up, because of who I am, I always told them, “Question everything and everyone.” I also was very aware of the lies the Government, my family and others had told me. So for me, it was important they understood from a young age, “Question. Question everything.”

For my readers out there, thanks for stopping by and for those, ‘Millennials,’ out there who just wanted to see what one of the Generation X-ers have to say about your generation in all this hubbub and media frenzy. Don’t worry, most of us from Generation X didn’t like the title either, and for the most part, to use the term Gen X is just rude. The reality is, Generation X does not even get a name; we are a letter of the alphabet. You however, the ‘Millennials,’ at least sound like a fancy, cutting edge, high-priced, state of the art vehicle that most of us will never be able to afford.

With that being said, I will pull my soap box back in on the A Train and move on to the next station as this concludes our broadcast day. Oh, and for those who want to know. I did take the millennial test and I scored an 83. Hmmm….

Oh, yes, links, links, links…

What is a millennial? Everything you’ve always wanted to know, but were afraid to ask.

Here is when each generation begins and ends according to facts 

What is a millennial anyway? Meet the man who coined the phrase.

Is millennial a dirty word?

The millennial generation.

Millennials, millennial generation.

How millennial are you?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

